2015 Annual Meeting Prize Winners Announced

Following on from a successful BTS Meeting at Keele Hall last month (November 2015) we are delighted to announce the following prize winners:

Best Clinical Presentation

1st Prize: ‘Follow up of 810 consecutive Titanium Hydroxyapatite coated uncemented stem hemiarthroplasties’ – Syed Nawaz, Sophie Wrigley, Young-Seok Cho, Andrew Keightley, Arshad Khaleel

2nd Prize: ‘Head Injuries and warfarin: When are patients safe to be discharged?’ – Aranghan Lingham, Yashashwi Sinha, Saleem Riaz

TLA Prize

‘Current practice of consent for trauma surgery: A time for change?’ – Steven Churchill, Cezary Kocialkowski, Ladan Hajipour, Anand Pillai



Best Scientific Presentation

1st Prize: ‘Alternative tension band technique for olecranon fractures: A biochemical study – Sanjit Singh, Jan Kuiper, Abol Behzadian, T Madhusudhan, Amit Sinha

2nd Prize: ‘Pelvic Pressure Changes after a fracture: A pilot cadaveric study assessing the effect of pelvic binders and limb bandaging’ – Rhys Morris, Andew Loftus, Anna Lygas, Rozina Mahmood, Ian Pallister

Best Poster Presentation

‘Are stainless steel elastic nails the solution to heavier children with femoral shaft fractures?’ – Richard Hutchinson, Professor Sam Evans

 Best Student Prize

‘Relationship of Vitamin D with bone mineral density, fracture type and social deprivation in neck of femur patients’ – Emma Formoy, Ekemini Ekpo, Timothy Thomas, Cezary Kocialkowski, Anand Pillai